Moving from Flash to ToonBoom Animate

Well I’m finally making the switch to ToonBoom Animate after a decade of animating with Flash. Thanks to a few issues with rendering Quicktime movies in Flash CS5 (worked perfectly in Flash 8!!) Adobe has inspired me to make the switch!

As I come across things I’m learning I thought I would post them here for my benefit and anyone elses. Remember, I am not an expert I’m simply learning out loud.

Quick tips

  • The cutter tool won’t work if you are using the brush with auto-flatten turned on
  • To import SWFs, in your Library palette and right-click on ‘Animate Library’ and check ‘Right to Modify’. Now you can import SWFs
  • If you want to edit SWFs that you’ve imported, you’ll need to go to EDIT > GROUP > UNGROUP
  • Adam Philips has some awesome tutorials on this topic on his YouTube channel.
  • You’ll need to think about every short scene as a whole new project in Animate, but using the library will help you re-use symbols and cycles you have created.
  • If you want to move it, you’ll need to peg it (cameras too)
  • To blur a layer, first create the blur layer and then parent what you want to that layer (by dragging it on to the blur layer)

As you can see this is a work in progress, I’ll update as I go… hopefully.

  1. If you have any questions, you can always post them in the Toon Boom Animate Forum. It is quite active and you will get a quick reply.

  2. Hi I am planning the same too. So I wonder are you happy with the switch? It had been quite a time since I last make some animation. Now it seems I need to start again and want to make a correct decision. Flash + After Effects or Toon Boom Animate.

    • Actually still using Flash for the latest project, but Animate for lip sync. Perhaps you could try and download demo software for both and see which suits what you need to do?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

