How to stop related YouTube videos showing up on WordPress

(updated dec ’11)
So you want to put a YouTube clip in your WordPress blog, but you don’t want related videos to show up when it is finished, right?

Basically you just need to type ‘?rel=0’ after your YouTube URL

I’ll take you thru it step by step

  1. Find the YouTube video you want to use
  2. Copy the URL of the video (it should look something like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NV9R2ZT9CSo)
  3. Choose where you want to insert the video in your WP post
  4. Select the movie icon next to Upload/Insert
  5. Select ‘from URL’
  6. Paste the URL and then type ?rel=0 straight after it (that’s a zero, not an ‘o’)
  7. Done!
  1. Very helpful, thanks!

    For embedded YouTube videos you need to append ?rel=0 rather than the ampersand e.g. http://www.youtube.com/embed/GQ-V3AfRKts?rel=0

    • Thanks Brightspark, YouTube have since updated their players and you are correct, I’ve changed my post accordingly!

  2. Hi there,
    I think I have followed your easy steps exactly. However, this does not work for me. Could you please review if your instructions are still valid ?
    Many thanks, Barry in Ireland

    • G’day Barry

      See above comment and updated post, YouTube have changed things slightly so you’ll need to add ‘?rel=0’ instead. Let me know if you have any issues.

  3. I have been using the embed and it looks alittle different.

    example

    where would I put the ‘?rel=0″ on this one

    • I see you’ve worked this out, but thought I’d reply for future viewers!

      If you do have a long code like this you can either add ‘&rel=0’ after everything else, or you can look for the first ampersand (&) in the code and delete everything after that, replacing it with your new ‘&rel=0’.

      Everything you see after an ‘&’ is a parameter that tells YouTube which features to turn on and off.

  4. just found it nevermind

  5. I have not had a lot of success with the codes above, so what I have been using is [embed width=560 height=315 rel=0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgqKkAwg9bg[/embed] for example. However, related videos still show.

    • The trick is to look for the string of random numbers and letters, then add the ?rel=0 after that.

      So you should try:
      [embed width=560 height=315 rel=0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgqKkAwg9bg?rel=0[/embed]

      If that doesn’t work, have a look at this post which talks you through the steps to embed an iframe.

    • Derek Clouatre
    • September 5th, 2012

    Super helpful, thanks!

  6. Thanks Dear..
    My problem is solved…

  7. Can you help please, I have followed your instructions, and I can only get the video to work on the web page using the youtube URL. as soon as I add ?rel=0 no video shows, just the actual url address, have also tried & instead of ? I am not very techy but try and do stuff myself where I can.

    • Dvice
    • May 7th, 2013

    sorry, the link i got from youtube is

    • No problem, try using the iFrame option as follows (I’ve used your URL so it should be good to go)

    • Dvice
    • May 7th, 2013

    ok sorry for the attack replys but it wont let me show you what i am using for some reason, it just displays that?

    • Dvice
    • May 7th, 2013

    ok sorry for the many replys but it wont let me show you what i am using for some reason, it just displays the normal youtube link

  8. Aha if you see my comment above, WP has converted my code to a link, so see if you can grab the iFrame code directly from YouTube, you can find details here: http://onewhale.com/index.php/how-to-stop-related-youtube-videos-being-shown-when-you-embed/

  9. Thanks a bunch. I got it to work 🙂

Leave a Reply

